Maple Blues Awards
About Us
Register to Vote
Vote Online
Toronto Blues Society

Twentieth Annual Maple Blues Awards: Nominees

The nominees listed below were selected by the Maple Blues Awards Nominations Panel for their outstanding achievements in blues music in Canada over the past year.

Entertainer Of The Year
Angel Forrest
Cécile Doo-Kingué
Matt Andersen
The Paul DesLauriers Band
Electric Act Of The Year
David Gogo
The Paul DesLauriers Band
Steve Hill
The 24th Street Wailers
Acoustic Act Of The Year
Al Lerman
Big Dave McLean
Harrison Kennedy
Jimmy Bowskill & Carlos del Junco
Tim Williams
Male Vocalist Of The Year
Duane Blackburn
Harpdog Brown
Harrison Kennedy
John Mays
Matt Andersen
Female Vocalist Of The Year
Angel Forrest
Dawn Tyler Watson
Samantha Martin
Shakura S'Aida
Suzie Vinnick
New Artist Or Group Of The Year
Andre Bisson
Blue Moon Marquee
Debra Power
Mark Crissinger
Spencer MacKenzie
BB King International Artist Of The Year
Beth Hart
Joe Bonamassa
Shemekia Copeland
Tedeschi Trucks Band
Mavis Staples
Recording/Producer Of The Year
Angel's 11 (Morningstar)
  • Artist: Angel Forrest
  • Producers: Angel Forrest & Denis Coulombe
Vicksburg Call (Cordova Bay)
  • Artist: David Gogo
  • Producer: The Pérignon Partnership
Devestatin' Rhythm (Ark-O-Matic)
  • Artist: David Vest
  • Producers: David Vest & Gary Kendall
Jawbreaker! (Self)
  • Artist: Dawn Tyler Watson
  • Producer: François Thiffault
Travelin' with the Blues (Dog House Records)
  • Artist: Harpdog Brown
  • Producer: Little Victor
Blues With A Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)
Stephen Barry
Diana Braithwaite
Danny Brooks
Michael Jerome Browne
Michael Fonfara
Alec Fraser
Tom Lavin
Ellen McIlwaine
Joe Murphy
Brent Parkin
Ken Whiteley
Guitar Player Of The Year
Colin James
David Gogo
Paul DesLauriers
Steve Hill
Tim Williams
Harmonica Player Of The Year
Carlos del Junco
Harpdog Brown
Jerome Godboo
Roly Platt
Steve Marriner
Piano/Keyboard Player Of The Year
David Vest
Duane Blackburn
Jesse O'Brien
Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne
Michael Kaeshammer
Horn Player Of The Year
Al Lerman
Chris Whiteley
Little Frankie Thiffault (Ben Racine Band)
Jon Wong (The 24th Street Wailers)
Mat "Moose" Mousseau (Ben Racine Band)
Drummer Of The Year
Chris Nordquist
Lindsay Beaver (The 24th Street Wailers)
Matt Sobb
Sam Harrisson (The Paul DesLauriers Band)
Tom Bona
Bassist Of The Year
Alan Duffy
Alec Fraser
Gary Kendall
Greg Morency (The Paul DesLauriers Band)
John Dymond (Colin Linden)
Songwriter Of The Year
Angel Forrest & Denis Coulombe
Cécile Doo-Kingué
Paul Reddick & Colin Cripps
Ross Neilsen
Sugar Brown